† And then the Curse swept the Earth

sexta-feira, 6 de janeiro de 2012

Puteraeon "The Esoteric Order"

Back to the vile...

Puteraeon is a Swedish death metal band whose members grew up listening to that music in the late 80s and early 90s and have completely embraced not only the sound, but also the ghoulish, corpse-littered lyrical focus. This debut album, "The Esoteric Order", consists of re-recorded songs from Puteraeon’s three previously self-released demos: two from 2008′s "Fascination For Mutilation", four from 2008′s "The Requiem", and five from 2009′s "The Extraordinary Work of Herbert West", plus two new songs, “Storms Over Devil’s Reef” and “Coma”. Most of the songs were inspired by the stories of HP Lovecraft (especially “Shadow Over Innsmouth” and “Herbert West – Reanimator”); others take zombies or the infamous Elizabeth Bathory as their lyrical subjects. The music and the subject matter of the songs suit each other. Regardless of the tempo, which varies, the songs just sound evil to the core. You listen, and it’s not hard at all to imagine the demented dead crawling from the earth, the crackle of arcing electricity in a re-animator’s lab, the slavering lurch of famished zombies who just can’t wait to sink their teeth into living human flesh. C'mon.. just look at that artwork. What do you call it when a death metal band is so in tune with this style of righteous music that they sound like they recorded the shit in 1991 and buried the tape in a time capsule, to be opened 20 years later? I call it soul. You can buy this here.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário